Happy Anniversary!

January 3, 2010. To most, today is just a day like any other, but today is a very special day for me. Today is the third anniversary of my spinal fusion and I can honestly say that I could not be happier. It is hard to believe that three years ago I was anxiously sitting in pre-op awaiting my life changing surgery and now, for the first time in years, I can say I am pain free – 100% pain free! I never thought those words would come out of my mouth and honestly, I do not think any of my doctors would either. While the road that led me to this day was not easy, I wouldn’t change any part of it.

I think Anne Frank said it best: “I don’t think of all the misery, but of the beauty that still remains.” (Hints my blog’s title) Anne lived a life that we cannot even imagine. She saw the worst of human nature, yet her outlook on life remained untainted and well, beautiful. Nothing that happened to Anne was fair, but she never complained. I have always had an infatuation of her short, but extraordinary life. In some small way, I try to live my life like Anne. There are always those days that nothing goes right, when the world seems upside down… but, maybe if we don’t think of all the misery, we will see the beauty that is all around.

BSR,
Ashleigh

P.S: Happy 2010! You can also subscribe to my blog to receive email notifications when I update – It’s on the left side of the page!  Thanks for reading and I love y’all!

2 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary!

  1. Happy anniversary! SO PLEASED to hear that you are pain-free. Hope that your holidays were beautiful. We love you!
    The Martins

  2. Music to my ears! It’s been a long journey but one that has success written all over it. You have touched so many lives through the years – given inspiration to others and have shown that with courage and determination you can overcome any obstacle placed in your path. I am so proud of you!

    Love you so much
    Mom

What do you think?

