Beauty: The Common Things

You know when you get a song in your head ??? You don’t know why it’s there, but you just can’t stop thinking it. Well, it has been happening to me for the past two days. Rather than a song, it is a line from the symphony of Alpha Chi Omega (my sorority).

“to see beauty even in the common things of life”

[Oh, and don’t fret. I’m not sharing secret ritual or anything like that.]

I’m not really sure why it popped in my head or why it won’t leave. I feel like there is a reason, and I’ll share as soon as I find out!

For now, I’ll just leave you with our symphony…

“My Symphony”

To see beauty even in the common things of life.

To shed the light of love and friendship round me.

To keep my life in tune with the world that I shall make no discords in the harmony of life.

To strike on the lyre of the universe only the notes of happiness, of joy, of peace.

To appreciate every little service rendered.

To see and appreciate all that is noble in another,

Be her badge what it may.

And to let my lyre send forth the chords of love, unselfishness, sincerity.

This is to be my symphony.

-Celia McClure, Delta Chapter: Allegheny College, 1914

 

What do you think?

