Beauty Still Remains?

I am in the process of trying to revamp my blog a little big and I was thinking it would be a good time to clarify a few things.

One question I keep getting is what does the blog’s title mean? Well, let me explain.

Prior to my spinal fusion, all I could think about was the day when I would have a normal back. This would be the day that I would feel beautiful because all of my problems would be solved. This consumed my days and dreams. If you have read my blog, you would know that immediately following my surgery, I was happy. I could wear the clothes I wanted and I was no longer defined by the crooked back. I was truly, blissfully happy. However, this bliss was short lived. Soon, low self-esteem ruled my life.  I felt as though all of my passions were exchanged for a straight spine. It took months, probably closer to a year, before I learned that life can (and will) go on.

Now to fully set this up, I also need to inform you about a very popular song at the time I started this blog. The song was Gavin Rossdale’s “Love Remains the Same”. Know it? Here are some of the lyrics:

“Half the time the world is ending
Truth is I am done pretending

Drink to all that we have lost
Mistakes we have made
Everything will change
But love remains the same”

One day, I was walking around campus (University of South Carolina) and snapping amateur pictures. I was trying to figure out the best way to capture the beauty of this old rusted fence tucked between some bushes and a building.  I couldn’t help but think about how some would say this old rusted fence needs a serious stripping and repainting. I thought it was absolutely beautiful.  As I crouched and twisted to get the shot I wanted, the song popped in my head.  And that is when it hit me. This fence was beautiful when it was built. Even through years of wear, the fence was different, but still beautiful.

At that second, I knew I had my blog title. My whole life I was waiting for my back to change so I could be beautiful. The lesson I later learned was that I was beautiful before my surgery. Although the surgery changed me, I was still beautiful – different, but beautiful.

 

Beauty Still Remains,
Ashleigh

What do you think?

