Weekend Review: Tubin’ in ‘Merica

Ever have a weekend where the only plan is to do nothing? That is what the hubby and I set out to do this past weekend. The hubby is drained from work and Boomer is wearing me out. If I could bottle and sell his energy I would be one rich girl. What started as a weekend with no plans ended up being a jammed packed weekend full of good times and good friends.

Friday a group of Nukes and girlfriends/fiance/wives got together for mexican at a local restaurant on S. Broadway. The meal started out normal enough – drinks, dinner and tequila shots on the house? Evidently this is standard at this establishment but I question the legality. After the free shots (I passed on mine because tequila and I have met and did not hit it off) free dessert was brought out. How this place stays in business is beyond me. After Mexican we walked down Broadway to Plum Dandy and got fo yo (50% off baby!) Chocolate + strawberries + flax seeds make this girl very happy.

We called it an early night because I had a run bright and early to get to.

Saturday morning was humid and overcast; the perfect excuse to not go running. After a good internal debate I decided I would be mad at myself if I didn’t go. I laced up my older Brooks just in case it rained and headed to Saratoga Spa State Park to run with the Saratoga Stryders. The group I usually run with wasn’t there so I did a slow trail run with a new group. It was kind of nice to give my joints a break and hit something softer than pavement (which is just about anything). The trail was gorgeous. Too bad I will never, ever find it again by myself. Putting in 6 miles, although slow, was a good start to the day.

At lunch,  the hubby and I were invited to join a large group of Nuke’s going tubing on Lake Luzerne in the Adirondack. This was my first time and it was a blast. What better way to spend a Saturday afternoon than floating down the river with good company and cold beer?

After a quick shower, we decided to head out for the night to keep the good times rollin’. I think half the bar was made up of Nuke’s, but it was great to meet the guys  the hubby spends his life with.

Sunday morning was lazy since  the hubby and I are an old married couple and have a strict 10:00pm bedtime. Finally we got moving and headed to check out a new trail on our bikes.

Inside my backpack:

Water and a wrench. Typical. Didn’t want to repeat the last pedal disaster.

Unfortunately, the trail ended up only being .5 miles and rain started to fall so our long bike ride was cut to a short 3 miles.

Hope your weekend was as fun as ours. Happy Monday!

One thought on “Weekend Review: Tubin’ in ‘Merica

  1. Pingback: Loser Buys Dinner | Beauty Still Remains

What do you think?

