Delicious Summer Meal

Boy do I have recipes for you! Translation: longest post about food ever.  Good thing I have lots of pictures to keep you entertained. Last night the hubby and I enjoyed a delicious summer meal. A lot of prep work went into this meal, but it was oh so worth it. To simplify cooking day, you could do some prepping the night before.

Pepper Jack and Spinach Stuffed Chicken


This recipe is adapted from one I saw in Food magazine a few years ago for grilling recipes. The hubby and I made this all the time in college since my roommate’s dad bought us a sweet gas grill. Why two girls need a gas grill is beyond me, but we actually got a lot of use out of it. Since we are back to apartment living, the only grills we have access to are a no-go. Turns out, it is just as good baked.

:: Ingredients ::

4 oz pepper jack cheese, shredded. (I never measure. I just shred until it looks like enough)
2 cups spinach, chopped (Again, I never actually measure)
2 large chicken breasts
olive oil
seasoning salt

:: Method ::

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees (or heat grill)

2. Combine cheese and spinach in a bowl

3. Cut pocket into the chicken using a small knife.

4. Stuff chicken with cheese and spinach mixture.

5. Rub both sides of chicken with olive oil.

5. Sprinkle seasoning salt on both sides of chicken.

6. Bake in glass dish for about 20-30 minutes, or until chicken is fully cooked. You can also grill the chicken for 8-10 minutes per side.

Tip: If you pocket is really large, use toothpicks to keep it together. Just make sure you pull them out before serving.

Rutabaga Fries 


I saw a recipe for rutabaga fries a few weeks ago and tucked it away in my memory. It was not until I was at the grocery store and passed by a rutabaga that I decided to give this recipe a go.

:: Ingredients ::

Rutabaga (the hubby and I ate almost an entire one, so I would say 1 rutabaga per 2-3 people)


Seasoning Salt
Chili Powder
Olive Oil (or cooking spray)
Ketchup for dipping

:: Method ::

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

2. Peel rutabaga, cut off ends and slice into fries (I quartered the rutabaga first)

3. Toss in olive oil (or spray cookie sheet) and put fries onto cookie sheet.

4. Sprinkle with seasoning salt and chili powder to your liking.

5. Cook for 15 minutes, flip and cook for 10- 20 more minutes. I sampled fries until I felt like they were cooked enough.

We dipped ours in ketchup, but you can use whatever dipping sauce you like. Or you can be really healthy and eat them plain.

They even look like fries. Moms – maybe you can trick the kids?

Roasted Zucchini 

:: Ingredients ::

One pound zucchini
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp minced garlic (I use jarred)
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1/2 tsp salt

:: Method ::

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees

2. Cut zucchini into sticks

3. Toss with olive oil, garlic, Italian seasoning, crushed red pepper and salt

4. Bake on cookie sheet for 15 minutes; flip and cook for 7 minutes longer.


Dinner was such a hit and I am thrilled. My husband ate spinach, rutabagas and zucchini in one sitting. Get out of town!

3 thoughts on “Delicious Summer Meal

    • She is a Norwich Terrier, but looks very similar to a Yorkie with her current hairdo. She is thicker than a Yorkie.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Pingback: Loser Buys Dinner | Beauty Still Remains

What do you think?

