I can’t get no… motivation

My long run (8 miles) was supposed to be yesterday, but yesterday I just didn’t feel it. “I’ll go for my long run on Friday” I told myself. When I woke up this morning to a downpour, I decided it was just too wet to run outside. Within the hour I was already feeling guilty for cheating on my training plan, so I laced up my shoes and headed to the clubhouse to run on the dreadmill. My only hope was that something good would be on TV.

My view for the next hour

I have been reading about compression socks lately so I decided I would pull my old pair out and give them a try. I got them for a Christmas present years ago, but have only wore them as a recovery assistant. It seems more and more people are running in them, so what the heck… check out my sweet gym outfit.

I’m sexy and I know it.

Wearing something new (or funny) always makes running more fun. At least for me.

The first thing I noticed about the socks is how hot they made me. Of course, any knee high sock would do that. I’ll probably wear them during a cold race just for warmth. That is after I get a cooler color. During my run I decided I looked like an old man.  As far as benefits, I didn’t suddenly have a better run or anything amazing like that. Maybe on a longer run, like a marathon, I would see/feel the benefits of wearing them.

After 2 1/2 episodes of Tabatha Takes Over, I had finished my 8 mile run. I am extremely proud of myself for putting in 8 miles on the treadmill (in 1 hr 11 min) without wanting to shoot myself from boredom. I’m also extremely happy that I stopped making excuses and got a long run in. I’ve never regretted a run though. Next week I tackle 9 miles!

Now if 7:30 will get here so the Olympics can officially begin! I can’t wait for gymnastics and track to start.

Fun fact: My parents took us to the Olympics in Atlanta. We were also in the park the night before the bombing.

Do you wear compression gear?
What is your favorite Olympic event? 

One thought on “I can’t get no… motivation

  1. Pingback: I went streaking yesterday. | Beauty Still Remains

What do you think?

