From one overly sensitive military spouse to another…

Today I had the pleasure to find a Facebook group dedicated to making fun of military spouses, or Dependopotomus. The site started out harmless enough. I even chuckled at a few of the pictures:

The supposed “purpose” of this group is to band together against overweight, Twinkie-eating slobs who became this way only after marrying a service member. Not an overweight military spouse? Don’t worry, they also slander tight clothes wearing military spouses. Still not you? What about a stay at home mom? Yep, they aren’t safe either. Oh, and if you are a young married couple or own a “proud (branch) wife” shirt, you aren’t safe either.

The group’s profile picture with 1000+ likes and 300+ share.
Via

Hum, so are we are all overly sensitive military spouses?

At first, I was angry that a civilian would create such a page. After reading a little more, I realized that the creator and probably a majority of the 23,000 fans were in fact wives of service members. The fact that a military spouse (and mother) created this fan page blows my mind. The fact that fans of the page can post comments like this is truly disgusting.

The fact that you seek out “funny” post from military support groups and post them on your wall is classless and shameful. Yes, you are entitled to your opinion; however, where is the line? In a day when individuals are committing suicide as a result of cyberbullying, it is despicable that a military spouse has created a page of this nature and it is no better than children calling each other fat.

And in case you were wondering: I am a military wife of a sailor who has been in service for a short time period. We were married in our early 20’s. I sometimes don’t shower and wear gym clothes to the commissary. I proudly drive a car with a “I Love My Sailor” license plate frame. I do not work. I own multiple “Navy” shirts and buy almost everything I see with an anchor on it. I’m sure I would like Twinkies (because who doesn’t?) So if I fit almost every one of your military wife stereotypes, well, I wear them well. Guess what, I was also a cheerleader and sorority girl so go ahead and start thinking about your jokes.

The reality is, it doesn’t matter if that this page is about military wives. It could be about minorities, overweight Americans, homosexuals, southerners, etc. It is about the fact that adults are acting like this. Adults who are married to service members who are held to the highest standards in this country.

So, creator and fans of Overly Sensitive Military Wives, you were successful. You made my blood boil and I even talked about your page with others today. In fact, I am sure that your page will receive a few more views as a result of this post. However, you were also successful in making yourself look ignorant and classless all while reconfirming my pride in being a military spouse. So thank you.

Source: Overly Sensitive Military Wives

You Might Also Like

2 thoughts on “From one overly sensitive military spouse to another…

  1. I wanted you to know that I have chosen you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. You can see the details about your nomination on my blog Here’s the thing. If you accept the award please note there are rules. ~Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them in your post. ~Share 7 interesting things about yourself. ~Nominate 7 bloggers you admire. ~Leave a comment on each of the blog’s letting them know they have been nominated.

  2. I agree that the whole “hierarchy” of military spouses and the ridicule of others is ridiculous. The point is we are all adults. We are all married. We all love our spouses. Grow up. We don’t need to tear each other down.

What do you think?

