It’s a cookin’ kind of day

Boy oh boy do I have a recipe for you! When I woke up this morning, I felt inspired to bake which is weird because I never bake. I think I am just too impatient for it. Last Thanksgiving, I made a red velvet cake (request of the brother-in-law) with pink and cake crumb icing because I didn’t let the cake cool long enough. Oops. Maybe I feel compelled to bake because  we are on day 6 of the hubby working 11:00am – midnight and I’m losing my mind.

So, with no baking “go to” recipes, I went to Pinterest. Duh! I came across a pin for baked apples with “oatmeal streusel topping”. Side note: I have no idea what streusel even is so this recipe can be done by baking dummies like me! I haven’t tried the apples yet because they just came out of the oven and look HOT. They feel hot too. My impatient finger gave it a feel. After I make sure they are edible, I will post pictures and the recipe since I changed it up a tad. In the meantime, here is a tried and delicious recipe for you…

Cinnamon Granola Bites


After filling my apples and popping them into the oven, I was left with a pretty good amount of Oatmeal Streusel left over. I thought about eating it with a spoon, but decided to be more domesticated than that. I decided I would turn it into granola to munch on before my bike ride this evening. When going for the cookie sheet I came across a mini-muffin pan that I swear I’ve never seen before and decided to break that bad boy out.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 stick of butter, melted (I used I can’t believe it’s not butter!)
  • 1/2 + 1/3 cup oats (I figured this is the easiest way to break it down)
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of ginger
  • pinch of salt

After spraying the muffin holes with cooking spray, I spooned in the extra streusel mix. The pan went in the oven for 10 minutes on 350 degrees. I let them cool for about 10 minutes and dug in.

Judging by the fact that there isn’t a scrap left (and I had to fight off Millie and Boomer) I would say these were a success. They taste like apple pie crust – maybe it is just because I had cut a ton of apples – and fall.

You Might Also Like

2 thoughts on “It’s a cookin’ kind of day

  1. Pingback: Blog on Fire Award | Beauty Still Remains

What do you think?

