Chili con Zucchini

I know my southern family and friends are about to be super jealous. It’s starting to feel like fall here. Already! I even found a red leaf today. A real red leaf. In the south, they just turn brown and fall off, but that doesn’t come until October.

I will admit that I am pretty excited to actually experience this mythical season called fall. We have even been able to open the windows during the day (and every night) … it’s AUGUST. I used to dread this month in South Carolina because August = 100+ degrees.  This is crazy.

Inspired by the cooler weather, the hubby and I decided chili sounded delicious. This time I added zucchini to my mix and it was a great addition.

:: Ingredients ::
1 lb ground beef (or turkey)
1 zucchini
2 cans kidney beans
1 can diced tomatoes
1 1/2 tbs chili powder
1 1/2 tbs cumin
1 tsp garlic salt
1/2 tsp light brown sugar

:: Method ::

1. Brown ground beef, drain excess fat and add to crockpot/pot.
2. In the same pan, add a little olive oil and chopped onion. I wait until the onion just becomes translucent and add it to the crockpot. Normally, I would wait until totally translucent, but they will finish cooking in the crockpot.
3. Add in remaining ingredients. I do not drain the beans or tomatoes.
4. Let simmer on low throughout the day (about 4-6 hours).

I like the crockpot because I trust it more than leaving a pot on the stove for that long.

We like ours with mini saltines crackers.

Happy one week to college football day! Go Cocks! It is a glorious day in our household because the hubby has the first 3 football games off. He used all of his luck for the entire year on 3 football games.

I’m totally breaking out my new tervis tumbler-ish anchor wine glasses from my aunt-in-law. [I think I just made that up]  How sweet are these?

What is your team? Do you like college or professional sports?

You Might Also Like –

3 thoughts on “Chili con Zucchini

  1. Pingback: Before you get a non-hunting hunting dog | Beauty Still Remains

What do you think?

