When technology fails.

It was slow and steady, but I finished my last long run before my half marathon next weekend. I am actually pretty proud of myself because I did all 12 miles without music. Totally not on purpose though. I got to the park nice and early… and was the only one there. The trail is cut through the woods so it is always a little creepy, but I was especially scared without another a soul out there with me. Whenever I hear a branch snap, I get nervous a bear is going to jump out and eat me. Usually it is just a squirrel. Overactive imagination at its finest.

Three miles in, I decided it was safe to pull out my iPod. After pushing the power button 10 times I succumbed to the fact that it was not going to turn on. That’s what I get for not checking it before I left. I used the silence to listen to my breathing, hear my feet, check my form and listen for bears squirrels. While I will make sure my iPod is charged for my next long run, I am happy to know that I can keep myself “pumped up” during my run and that I don’t have to rely on music.

And…I finally found a gel that doesn’t make finding a bathroom top priority after crossing the finish.

Turns out, the Gu energy gel is full of potassium. Since I eat more bananas than any one person should, I am not lacking in potassium department. I think it was all too much for my stomach to bear. Power Bar energy gel has low potassium content and high sodium. Since I have a low sodium diet, this is a much better option for me.

And because every post must contain something about Millie and Boomer… they are still up to their old antics.

Have a great weekend! Any big plans?

You Might Also Like-

8 thoughts on “When technology fails.

  1. I just got nominated for a Liebster Award! I wanted to pay it forward by nominating you too!

    The Rules:

    1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
    2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
    3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
    4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post. Go to their page and tell them.
    5. No tag backs.

  2. What other fuels have you tried? I am training for a 1/2 and I am not sure what to try I have some honey stinger waffles and those are good. I wanted to experiment a bit more. I will be running in Jan at Disney. So I still have some time to play with.

    • I used Jelly Bean brand Sports beans when I first started running. Now I like Shot Blocks by Clif and I like the Power Bar gel. Nuun is also popular, but I have never tried it. I also started drinking a little power aid during my run and (at least mentally) it gives me a little boost.

What do you think?

