Fungus Amongus

Friday, the hubby came home from work and declared, “We are going hiking!”

Um, hello? Do you remember last time we went “hiking” and saw snakes?

With the promise of no snakes (and bears because yes, I did ask) we set off for Buck Mountain.

We should have known we were in for trouble when Google Maps struggled to get us directions… and gave us this bit of parting advice:  The reason the road may be seasonally closed is because it is a dirt road cut into the side of the mountain with wild turkeys running well, wild.
Finally we make it to the trail head and signed into the guest book. Not to be cute and see where people have traveled from. So people know to come looking for us when we get lost in the woods. I mean really, we could barely navigate the subway in NYC.  Feeling quite adventurous with our North Face book bag in tow, off we went.

It didn’t take too long before I starting getting tired of climbing rocks, stepping/tripping over roots and sliding in my worn out running shoes. We both agreed that we needed boots of some sort.

But then, after 1.5 hours of hiking, we made it here and suddenly it was all worth it: We enjoyed a packed lunch at the top of the summit while we took in the beautiful views of Lake George.

These little guys were running around everywhere.
I am 99% sure these are “Pocket Pets”/Sugar Gliders.

Everything was perfect except for my bladder which was screaming at me. After establishing a game plan and location, I did a first. I marked my spot on the top of Buck Mountain. Take that Millie and Boomer! I was so happy I brought TP just in case (as any experienced road racer would do).

It only took us 1 hour to get back down the mountain, but it was still a tough hike down.  I’m pretty sure we didn’t speak a word to each other because we were both concentrating on not sliding down the mountain side.
The hubs and I were both tired and hungry so we stopped at the gas station and spent $10 on junk food to enjoy on the way home.  It was a great way to spend a Sunday together and we are planning on doing it at least one more time when the leaves have changed. Apparently Buck Mt. makes a great climb with snow on the ground, but I think I’ll pass.

Did you do anything fun this weekend? 

You Might Also Like-

5 thoughts on “Fungus Amongus

  1. Some people would consider spending time together as sitting in from of the TV watching a movie. What you guys are doing is so much better. Those are some spacatular views. Good for you! OH, and great pics. 🙂

  2. Pingback: CPR and a little bit of Cohoes | Beauty Still Remains

What do you think?

