Do I miss my husband?

Well, we are back on swing shift, which means the hubby works from 11:30am – 11:30pm. He usually makes it into bed around 1:00am. Which means I don’t go to bed until around 1:00am. Which means I am tired all. the. time. After two long days at work, Saturday couldn’t have come soon enough.

Thursday, I worked all day setting up for a Kyle Busch appearance at City Center. I’m not a big NASCAR fan (read : know nothing/have no interest) but it was cool to see all of the POS stuff (like driving M&M’s from the museum to the city center and building 6 Kyle Busch cardboard cut outs). I planned on leaving the event early, but when you are standing right next to his wife – what are you going to do? When I got home I enjoyed a delightful glass of much-needed wine during my Group Exercise Instructor class. And apple juice because I eat/drink weird combinations daily.

Friday night was a girls night full of wine and pizza. It was so nice being around other Navy wives who get this crazy life. And it was nice talking to someone not named Millie or Boomer.

This morning I was up bright and early finishing up a favor bag order. After getting that shipped out, I stopped by Target to pick up a quilt I saw on sale yesterday. After the hubby’s stamp of approval, we now have the beginnings of our new master bedroom.

Check out that price ($56)! Our current Target quilt was $120, so this one feels like a steal. I’m picturing a blue accent wall with the other walls painted beige. I am so excited to move and get settled into a more permanent home. A real house. Hopefully our apartment living days will be over.

When I came home, there was a surprise package filled with the cutest gift I’ve even seen. On first glance, there are 157 recipes I want to make.
To keep my “do whatever I want day” rolling, I headed over to the new fitness center that just opened in our complex. I didn’t have high expectations, but it looks great. The equipment is decent, but gets the job done for those days I don’t feel like running.

 So, do I miss my husband?  Absolutely. I don’t know how people do this whole shift work thing all the time. However, there are times when I kind of like being able to do and eat whatever I want. Oh, and not showering until 6pm. 🙂

Anyone watching the Auburn v LSU game? Doesn’t Auburn know they suck this year and aren’t supposed to give LSU a hard time?  And Auburn- you can’t have Sandstorm. It’s ours!

2 thoughts on “Do I miss my husband?

  1. I am excited for you all to have your very own home. There is nothing like having your own place. My husband (at the time) and me were stationed in Germany when we decided to get our first home. I was so excited and nervous at the same time. I have been in that home for more than 2o years now. I love it. I know most people don’t stay in their 1st homes that long, but I really love where I live. Sorry for the rant. 🙂

  2. I can’t wait to get out of an apartment. Not hearing a dog running upstairs and colored walls – yes please! We will still rent because we are too scared to purchase knowing we will only be there about 3 years. My hubby has already said once military life is over, we can build our dream home.

What do you think?

