I’ve been a busy bee

After you read the next paragraph, you will see how far behind I am. With the onslaught of DIY projects, pushing boxes around from one room to another, taking down Christmas decorations, re-organizing closets, finding an inside home for our bikes, well… you get the point. I’m hoping things will slow down for the next few months, but probably not. I will start my marathon training plan in a few weeks and my parents are coming from GA to visit. I like my life busy.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Hope you had a wonderful New Year’s Eve. We spent our evening with some Navy families from the hubby’s boat and watching the awesome Bainbridge Island fireworks from across the water. I really enjoyed it because fireworks burst across the entire horizon so no matter where you looked there were fireworks.

We even had a few days without rain so I was able to snap a few pictures of Mount Rainier… from our deck. I am so in love with our view.

1-DSC_0545

I love that my husband loves gadgets. He got me a super zoom lens for my camera so I can take cool pictures like this one. 1-DSC_0562

I’ve been away from the blog lately because I’ve been busy craftin’ up a storm. I’ll blog about everything this week (maybe?), but for now, here is a sneak peek:

DSC_05211-DSC_05861-DSC_0611photo 1 (4) photo 2 (6)

What I’m most proud of is how cheap these projects were. The bed cost about $50 and that was the most money (by far) that I’ve spent.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Since moving to Washington, I’ve become a thrift store regular. Even my husband likes to go. For those of you who know him know how crazy that is. We go almost every weekend to see what we can find. Look at this awesome sewing machine! photo 2 (5)The person how donated that is bananas . My grandmother has her mother’s (my great-grandmother) machine and the women in our family all want it. I’m willing to lose the great sewing machine battle because my Granny also has her mom’s Sears Roebuck wedding ring (a modest sliver band) that I love. My husband tells me that we are horrible for calling dibs on Granny’s stuff, but she has so many treasures from the past. He also tells me I’m crazy for some of the items I come home with. He just doesn’t trust my “vision”.

Like these glasses for instance:

photo 3 (3)

Just kidding. Those are Navy issued glasses (as in issued in 2011) fondly known as “BCG’s” or Birth Control Glasses. Every time the hubby pulls them out we all have a fashion show. I would show you the picture of me wearing them, but I am just too good looking 😉

And some things never change….

photo 1 (3)I’m really mad at Best Buy for being a nationwide company. And that Best Buy is right next to the thrift store.

Okay, I think that brings you up to speed. I will get to work blogging about all of my crafts and show some pictures of the house. It’s starting to come together. I have to get all of this craft/decorating stuff taken care of now before running takes back over my life.

2 thoughts on “I’ve been a busy bee

What do you think?

