Napkin Pillow

When the hubby and I moved into our first place there was that awkward period of trying to mesh our two styles. Actually, my hubby doesn’t have a style per se, but there are certain things he doesn’t like. I would have our entire house decorated with upcycled items that have a story. My husband would much rather go to a store and buy the 5 piece set. I’m still trying to figure out how to mesh our two styles. No. No I’m not. He gets to have a matchy matchy bedroom set and coffee table + TV stand, but the rest is my domain. Anyways, the point of this is that our original master bedroom decor was the first thing we agreed on, but I never really loved it. I recently bought new bedding which meant the old got moved to our new guest room. Then (after a year of marriage and learning to just do what I like in the first place because the hubby doesn’t even notice) I decided to only keep the bedspread and make new curtains and pillows to make the bedding something I am happier with.

If you are still following, congrats because that was the longest story as to why I made this pillow.

This is seriously the easiest project ever. Oh, and it’s cheap. Turns out, pillows are really expensive. Even clearance pillows started at $12.00. I like a $3 dollar napkin much, much better. I headed to one of my favorite stores, World Market, and picked up this napkin.

Step 1: I ironed my napkin, folded it in half and ironed a crease.  Looking at this picture, I realize my crease is wrong way, but it still worked. So, you should fold you napkin in half with the printed side facing IN, then iron a crease 🙂

1-DSC_0516

Step 2: Pinned and sewed the pillow all the way around. Make sure you leave an opening on a short side so you can flip the pillow un-inside-out and stuff it.
1-DSC_0517

Step 3: My hole was a little small so flipping the pillow took some time. On the bright side, less to hand stitch at the end. I realized I forgot to buy stuffing so I improvised… I found an old pillow in a storage bin that I knew I would never use again and cut that baby open. Purging and saving money! I used a ruler to get the stuffing in the bottom corners since only a toddler’s hand would fit in that opening.

1-DSC_0520 Step 4: Close up the opening and work the stuffing smooth.

1-DSC_0521

Ta da! A project I can complete in one sitting and move on. The perfect project. 

3 thoughts on “Napkin Pillow

  1. I remember making pillows like this all the time as a kid when my mom tried to teach me how to sew. I never thought about actually using it to make real pillows. I just made them for my stuffed animals.

What do you think?

