A cold run

It’s funny how running can make you feel. Two days ago, I was on cloud nine because I hit an injury come back distance PR. Today’s run was tough. I should have known it was going to be a trying run from the beginning. I was excited to download some new music on my ipod, but it took forever because iTunes updated and looks completely different. After spending 30 + minutes to download ONE song (Don’t stop the Party by Pit Bull) and make a new playlist, I was finally ready to hit the gym. Luckily I checked the gym hours and they closed at 4pm. Seeing as it was 3pm, the dogs needed to potty, I still had on PJ’s… it wasn’t happening. So, I got to hit the pavement in the delightful 34 degrees.

I am still cold and my ears are burning. Two miles in I decided to call it quits and head home. I ended up running three miles, but they were slow and forced. It is a run like today that makes running a marathon seem so far out of reach. Heck, it makes running a 10k seem out of reach.

It is also a run like today that reminds me I need to trust the process. I remember feeling like this at the beginning of my first 1/2 marathon training plan. I also remember when I used to run 9+ miles like they were nothing. I know I will get there; it just takes time and patience.

Edit: I just watched The Biggest Loser episode I recorded and I think Dolvett Quince spoke to me:  “There is no better feeling in the world starting off thinking you can’t do something and you do it anyway.”

 

 

4 thoughts on “A cold run

  1. Crappy runs are the worst, they always come after the great runs too so it’s like a slap in the face! But it does mean you are bound to have a good one again soon!

  2. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
    back frequently!

What do you think?

