DIY: Sparkle Running Skirt

There are a few reasons I like to run. Runner’s high, pink tennis shoes and fun running clothes. Simple as that. My mom and I (with help from the hubby when our brains stopped working) made this skirt the night before my last half marathon and I figured I should finally get around to telling you how. Plus, I just happen to have some sparkly fabric and a lot of free time.

1-DSC_0062-001

:: What You Need :: 
1 yard confetti dot fabric (or other fabric of choice)
Elastic for waistband
Matching thread
Sewing Machine

Note: There are two different color fabrics in this post – you’re not crazy 🙂 

Start with the waistband. Wrap elastic around your waist where you want you skirt to sit. Add about two inches for overlap. Create the waistband by sewing the two ends together. I used a zig-zag stitch on the ends to make sure they are flush with the rest of the band (prevent chafing) and a straight stitch for the long ends. Give your waist band a few tugs to make sure it will hold up during the race.

1-DSC_0029

Put the waistband aside. We’ll come back to that at the end of the project.

Measure and cut the rest of the skirt.

  • Top of skirt: Cut a rectangle.
    For the long side: measure your hips where ever you want the skirt to sit and add four inches to give yourself some running room.  For the short side: 5.5 inches.
    measurement

Bottom of skirt:
For the long side: hip measurement + 4 inches. For the short side: 9-10 inches*. You need two of these rectangles.  *Don’t worry if the skirt looks a little long; you can always shorten the skirt at the very end.measurement21-DSC_0048

Now that everything is cut, you will make the bottom of the skirt first.

1-DSC_0062-002To create the ruffle of the bottom of the skirt:

  • sew the two larger rectangles together to make one very long rectangle1-DSC_0055
  • sew one stitch down the length of the rectangle. Place the stitch about 1/2 inch from the top. ***DO NOT BACK STITCH*** You also want to set the stitch to the longest stitch you have.
  • start pulling on the fabric (make sure to hold the thread) to create an even ruffle. The goal is to make the ruffled rectangle the same size as the smaller (top of skirt) rectangle. Just ignore the typo in the picture below 🙂 1-DSC_0058

Now we are going to attach the ruffle part of the skirt. 1-1-DSC_0062-001To add the ruffle on the flat part of the skirt:

  • Pin the ruffled rectangle on the smaller (top of skirt) rectangle. Pin directly on the sparkle side of fabric. I gave myself about a .5 inch overlap. Actually, I counted up three dots and pinned so I didn’t have to measure. 1-DSC_0061This step takes a while to get the ruffle even and pinned straight. Boomer gave up on me…
    1-DSC_0060
  • Sew directly below the basting stitch making sure the ruffle stays.
  • You can pull out the basting stitch now. I left mine in because you couldn’t see it.

Sew the skirt shut by folding the skirt in half (with the good side of fabric facing in). Pin and sew the short sides together. *Make sure to line up the ruffles because you can trim the bottom up to match if it doesn’t line up exactly.  The final step is to attached the waistband.

1-1-DSC_0062-002To attach the skirt to the waistband:
(Sorry for no pictures – this is a two hand job)

  • Pin the skirt to the inside of the elastic waistband. You will notice the skirt is larger than your waistband – you want that! I pinned the skirt in four places – the back, front and each side leaving loose material between each pin. Start sewing (with a zig-zag stitch) where you placed a pin. As you sew, hold your skirt where the next pin is and pull the elastic to become the same length as the material. The goal of this is to allow the skirt to stretch so you can put it on. When you are finished, the material will have a slight ruffle at the top, but it will flatten out when you put it on. 

To shorten your skirt: determine how much shorter you need it and chop. This fabric will not fray.  1-DSC_00621-DSC_0068DSC01613-001

Please let me know if you have any questions or if a part of this tutorial isn’t clear. 

10 thoughts on “DIY: Sparkle Running Skirt

  1. I’ve completed everything but attaching the elastic. I can make it stretch without the stitches being loopy with extra thread. I’m using tr zigzag stitch, but I can’t make it work. Any tips?

  2. Thank you for the wonderful tutorial! I just made one in a single evening with no trouble at all.

    The only thing I did differently was to sew two basting stitch lines about 1/4 inch apart for the ruffle. Then once I had gathered the ruffle I just had to sew between the two lines to attach the ruffle to the top of the skirt.

  3. Tried this recipe but used different colors for the top and bottom…check it out!

    Not as stoked about the second one (which is actually the first one I made), mostly because of the elastic color. It looks a little like underwear to me. Oh well…I needed a test run before making the purple/black (go Rockies!) for a friend. I like it!

What do you think?

