Proud Navy Wife

As you know, I am a military wife and a very proud one at that! While the lifestyle we live can be crazy at times, it also gives us opportunities that civilians don’t normally have. It is usually the very thing that makes me want to pull my hair out that I also love (i.e. living in three states in one year). Life is always an adventure. When my husband told me we would probably do our next shore tour in Washington my response was, “5 years here? That’s too long!”

The one thing that makes the submariner lifestyle really crazy is the secrets. Know that saying “secrets secrets are no fun unless they are for everyone”? Well, the hubby and I cannot teach our kids that. I have never seen where my husband works and have very little idea of what he actually does. When he returns from this deployment I will have no idea what he did or where he even was. Not because we keep secrets from each other, but he legally cannot. [Like signed a contract saying he would never tell.] I like to make up stories about what he does and I am always trying to keep up with the news, but the whole point of submarine service is go unnoticed. This also translates to the wives because the little we do know has to be kept a secret. I was recently in a meeting where we were told certain information couldn’t be written down and whatever you do, DON’T PUT THIS IN YOUR IPHONE!!! How is that for a what-my-husband-does-is-intense wake up call? It’s been a learning process for everyone because it is such a natural thing to ask “where is your husband” or “when does he get home”. I’ve learned to get past feeling dumb when I have to answer, “I don’t know!” Even if I do have a date, it will probably get changed anyways.

I found this video while my boyfriend was at Officer Candidate School and at that point it didn’t seem real. After marriage and almost a year of training we have finally made it to the point where the hubby is there. He does the same work on the same type of boat and holy crap that is so crazy! When I first watched the video it didn’t seem real and now it is our reality. I am very proud of my husband, but I’m also certain he is off his rocker for volunteering to do this.

From one submariner wife to another – All I have to say is thank goodness they run out of food 🙂

4 thoughts on “Proud Navy Wife

  1. You are amazing, and I hope you know that! I’m such an incessant planner and I need to know everything (I hate surprises) that I don’t know how I would do what you do. I give you so many kudos 🙂

    • Amanda, you’re going to make me cry over here! I’ve learned with the Navy that you plan for everything and nothing. It is killing me right now because we have no idea what the rest of this year holds for us.

  2. I grew up in a Navy/CIA family so got used to not talking about work…ever…so when the Mr (who does important stuff with Helicopters for USMC) can only tell me certain things he’s known for weeks after they’ve been made public, it doesn’t surprise me so much. It is fun imagining what they do! I imagine mine’s a 007 with a helicopter. And whenever anyone asks you where he is or what he’s doing, just say, ‘I could tell you but I’d have to kill you.’ 😉 Shuts people up pretty quickly

What do you think?

