I did it!

photo (1)Honestly, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. The beginning was a little rough…

I checked the weather before leaving and it said 50 degrees with a high of 65, but it felt cool. I decided on pants and a long sleeve. Luckily I threw a short sleeve shirt in my bag as I headed out the door because 3 miles in I was in the backseat of my car changing. I headed back to the main road on base but quickly realized I was either going to find a bathroom or wet my pants. After awkwardly running around base trying to find a bathroom (note: no bathroom at the gas station or mini mart) I went back to where I parked and used the Commissary bathroom. I thought I saw a different way to get back to the main road, but there wasn’t a sidewalk and I like to abide by the rules when on base (correction – my husband has me scared to do anything “wrong”). Back I went up towards the Commissary (by this point I’ve awkwardly walked around looking for a sidewalk while pouring sweat) when a group of Marines walked by.

“Good Afternoon, ma’am”

I wanted to respond “I know I look like an idiot, but all I need is a sidewalk so I can run… 10 miles by the way!”

I settled for “hello” and kept walking.

Finally I got back on the road and finished out my run. The entire run I thought I wasn’t doing that great, but I finished my last mile pretty strong. That has to be a good sign that I still had something left in the tank.

 

One thought on “I did it!

What do you think?

