18 miles is really far

I have about 1 month left before the Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle Marathon and I’ve hit the part of training I was scared of – really, really long runs. Saturday called for an 18 miler, my longest run by 3 miles.

There is one thing I learned: 18 miles is really far.

I started around 6:30 in the morning (really early since I stayed up drinking wine and watching Parenthood with my husband) not because I had to beat the heat (that doesn’t exist in the PNW), but I wanted to be able to run, recover and still spend some time with my hubby.

At 8:00, I meet up with a group of friends, just as I was around 9 miles. It was perfect timing because I was getting tired and honestly a little bored. Apparently I was more tired than I thought because I never turned my iPod on once I got off the busy road (the first two miles of my run).

I did try to snap a few pictures of the mountains, but this is the best of my attempts.

photo 2

Anyways, I ran for another hour or so with my friends. We split up at 16 miles and I headed home, thinking I was going to time it perfectly to our doorstep. I ended up finishing about 1.5 miles from my house so I called my husband to come collect me.

After telling my husband how far 18 miles is he asked me if I had seen my outfit. Apparently he thinks matching is required, but I think it is more of a suggestion. I can’t help it if all of my most comfortable running stuff gives me an outfit Rainbow Brite would be proud of. I guess that is an excuse to buy a cute (and matching) race day outfit. I’m okay with that.

I actually had more negative splits that I thought I would.

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 5.08.13 PM

The rest of the day was spent eating (cereal, fig newtons, nachos, coke, a soft pretzel, Japanese, crackers and cheese…) I told my husband post really long runs must be like having pregnancy cravings.

That afternoon, we headed down to a huge mall in Tukwila to walk around and have dinner. The rest of the night was spent with these two crazies.

What do you think?

